« Ansel Stamps | Main | Shooting Wide Open »

Sunday, 21 April 2024

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

It's strange to me that there are two groups of people that want to cheat the normal cycle of life by either curtailing it through some act or hoping to extend it by believing in some science fiction with an exorbitant cost.

As one that has been in one of those groups, I can't understand the other.

Reminds me a bit of this book that I have:

https://www.amazon.com/American-Index-Hidden-Unfamiliar/dp/3865213804

Re your comment on my comment. Cold. Yes. Or... Corporate? Maybe just commercial. Funny thing is, warm would separate his work from the other endless parade of corporate filler.

Yes. He has amazing access. But it's being squandered. Says the man who has so many photos of his dog, that his brother from another mother once commented "Mate, what's with all those photos of that brown dog?"

Can't help but envisioning Woody Allen in the opening scene of the movie "Sleeper" waking up 200 years in the future after being cryo-preserved wrapped in Birdseye TV dinner foil with his glasses still on. =)

This reminds me of a CS joke.

A programmer sacroficed himself and had his body frozen just before 2000. (At the start of the Win2K hoax). The timer for his "Jar" had a bug and it never awakened him, so he remained frozen until 9,999.
When awakened, he saw tall thin silver dressed people running around high fiving each other screaming "We are Saved".

After he sat up and had a little soup to get him going, he asked why they were all running round being so happy.

The "leader" look at him sort of puzzled and said, "This is the year 9,999 and you are the only person on the planet who understands COBOL. (Which stores year dates in a four digit field)

This brings back memories. I used to have lunch every Wednesday with a gang of science/engineering folks, one of whom had been involved in Alcor and has reserved a spot for his head when the time comes. The rest of us thought the chances of future resurrection were very close to nil.

"For me the problem of work like this is that it is documentary but not expressive."

This is not the first time I've seen you post something to this effect - as if you have a downer on documentary photography, but the first time I'm not deleting my reply.

Why is that a problem? Why does photography have to be 'expressive'? Whatever that means. What's wrong with photographs being documentary in nature in order to clearly illustrate what things look like? That can be done while still making photographs that work as pictures. Which possibly makes them even better as documents.

There's a trend for art-documentary photography that is trying to be expressive, or 'poetic', that fails to tell you anything about the subject because it's trying to work through metaphor or some such nonsense.

What you say about the passage of time is a good point. Old photographs, regardless of technical or artistic qualities become fascinating to look at because they show us things that no longer exist.

I'm probably not making myself too clear as this subject really needs a lot more thinking about, but my point really is that looking at or taking photographs which are 'inexpressive' documents is just as worthwhile as looking at or taking those which aspire to the condition of art.

I'd say it's an even more worthwhile use of photography for amateurs and hobbyists as they can record the quotidian stuff that gets overlooked, striving to do that in a way that makes their pictures a little more polished than the casual vernacular snap.

The hardest thing, though, is finding a way to preserve the resulting pictures. Hard copies of some kind, even if not your beloved 'fine prints', seems the most likely one.

Photography is an egalitarian medium. Don't make it elitist.

So, of course, my brain immediately cued up this classic clip: https://youtu.be/3soue33ebLU?si=iAW203svXjbtfiTv

Re: “documentary but not expressive”. I see photos almost daily from a gentleman who makes what are clearly documentary photos of things, including birds on a stick, birds standing, a Space Shuttle in a museum, and other random things. They are certainly documentary and very much inexpressive. And they’re boring. VERY boring, especially as a collection of unrelated documentary photos. I’ve not seen any in over 3+ years that have even a hint of a story or even context. They’re photos “of” things and he posts them one or two at a time on a photo club’s Facebook page. I keep hoping I’ll see a set of photos posted that relate to each other or a URL that shows me his collections of related items. So far, it’s just those one or two images several times a week. A little expression would help the individual images. I do a fair amount of documentary photography myself and it’s really hard to be both documentary and expressive in a single image, but I try. But when I assemble collections of individual documentary photos I can be expressive and create a story of those photos. Sometimes it’s the collections that are expressive, even if the individual photos aren’t. But that’s my 2 cents.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Portals




Stats


Blog powered by Typepad
Member since 06/2007